Congressional Caucus for Freedom of the Press

Promoting and protecting a free press is a value shared across the aisle. In 2006, I founded the Congressional Caucus for Freedom of the Press with my then-colleague, Vice President Mike Pence. We created the caucus to highlight the importance of a free and open press to democracy, as well as to draw attention to censorship by repressive regimes and the persecution of journalists.

The Caucus continues its bipartisan work with Congressman Steve Chabot of Ohio serving as co-chair. Unfortunately, there remain far too many nations in which press freedom and the safety and well-being of journalists are under daily threat.

Too many journalists are jailed for reporting the truth or telling the stories that the powerful or violent would rather keep in the shadows. A nation cannot be free unless the press is free, and we must continue to stand with these brave truth-tellers.

PFC Photo Montage 2 rows

Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo (cropped photo)

Left to right, top: Anna Politkovkaya, investigative journalist, Novaya Gazeta;
Ahmed Abba, correspondent, Radio France Internationale;
Nguyen Ngoc Nhu Quynh, Vietnamese blogger and activist;
Mykola Semena, RFE/RL journalist.
Second Row: Austin Tice, freelancer, Washington Post;
Khadija Ismayilova, RFE/RL journalist and radio host;
Ayla Albayrak, Wall Street Journal reporter;
Matthias Depardon, photojournalist, National Geographic. 
Bottom: Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo, journalists, Reuters.


Letter: Congressional Freedom of the Press Caucus Co-Chairs express concern about reported harassment and intimidation of employees of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty’s (RFE/RL) Tajik Service.

Press Release: Congressional Freedom of the Press Caucus Recognizes TIME Magazine’s 2018 Person of the Year

Press Release: Schiff-Chabot Joint Statement on the Disappearance of Jamal Khashoggi

Press Release: Congressional Freedom of the Press Caucus Calls for Immediate Release of Ukrainian Journalist Held by Russia-backed Separatist Militants in Eastern Ukraine

Press Release: On World Press Freedom Day: Schiff, Chabot Announce Resolution Highlighting Vital Need For Press Freedom

Press Release: Congressional Freedom of the Press Caucus Statement of Support for Pakistani Radio Mashaal

Tweet: Reporting on the ethnic cleansing of the Rohingya is not a crime. Burmese authorities must release Wa Lone & Kyaw Soe Oo.

Press Release: Freedom of Press Caucus Urges Secretary Tillerson to Pressure Burma to Release Two Reuters Journalists

Press Release: Freedom of the Press Caucus Condemns Russia’s Designation of Foreign Media as “Foreign Agents”

Tweet: Reporting on poor governance and environmental disasters is not a crime. Quynh must be released immediately. #PressFreedom

Opinion Piece: CNN Opinion Series - The importance of promoting and protecting a free press

Tweet: Rep. Adam Schiff expresses outrage at Wall Street Journal reporter Ayla Albayrak's prison sentence and Turkey's suppression of the free press

Tweet: Reps. Adam Schiff and Steve Chabot urge Vietnamese government to release detained blogger and human rights activist Nguyen Ngoc Nhu Quynh

Floor Speech: Rep. Adam Schiff speaks against violent assault on peaceful protestors by Erdogan's thugs, and Turkey's status as the world's leading jailor of journalists

Opinion Piece: World Press Freedom Day 2017 (Medium, May 3, 2017)

Press Release: Members of the U.S. Congress Call to Drop Criminal Charges Against Crimean Journalist Mykola Semema

Tweet: Rep. Adam Schiff calls on President Trump to acknowledge human rights violations against journalist Mykola Semena

Video: Rep. Adam Schiff and Sen. John McCain (R-AZ) offer words of support to journalist Khadija Ismayilova, who is serving a 7 1/2 year prison sentence on charges widely viewed as retaliation for her investigation that linked members of President Ilham Aliyev’s family to corruption.


10/4/17 | Briefing: Systemic Attacks on Journalists in Russia and Other Post-Soviet States

Caucus Membership

Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA), Co-Chair
Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH), Co-Chair
Rep. Norma Torres (D-CA)
Rep. David Cicilline (D-RI)
Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD)
Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)
Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA)

On World Press Freedom Day: Schiff, Chabot Announce Resolution Highlighting Vital Need For Press Freedom